Delta Police Board

The Delta Police Board is mandated by the BC Police Act to provide civilian governance, accountability and oversight of the Delta Police Department.

The Police Board not only provides governance but also acts as a support mechanism and facilitator for the Chief Constable. The Board ensures that the direction of the Police Department is consistent with community expectations.

The Delta Police Board is comprised of the Mayor, one person appointed by Delta Municipal Council and five persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. Membership consists of:

Mayor George V. Harvie

Chair of the Board

Dr. Karen Hossack Municipal Appointed
Peter Buxton, QC Appointed by Lieutenant Governor in Council
Angela Kaiser, BComm, CPA, CFP, CFP, ICD.D Appointed by Lieutenant Governor in Council
Antonina (Annette) Garm, RN, MALS, MDN, EXTRA Fellow Appointed by Lieutenant Governor in Council
Gurleen S. Sahota Appointed by Lieutenant Governor in Council

Board members are appointed to a term not to exceed four years, although they may be reappointed. They cannot hold office for more than six consecutive years. Attempts are made to stagger the appointments to ensure continuity from year to year.

Members of the Board volunteer their time and expertise to form a neutral body to oversee policing within the municipality. They are paid per diem, to cover incidental expenses incurred during their Board duties as per the Police Board Manual.

Police Board Volunteer Posting

Do you want to become more involved in your community? Are you a team player, with strong reasoning and communication skills? The Provincial Government is seeking a volunteer to serve as a Delta Police Board Member. The successful individual will work with Chief Neil Dubord, and other Police Board Members in overseeing the provision of police services in Delta. Apply by Feb. 22, 2019.

Police Board Volunteer