Delta Police Board

The Delta Police Board is mandated by the BC Police Act to provide civilian governance, accountability and oversight of the Delta Police Department.

The Police Board not only provides governance but also acts as a support mechanism and facilitator for the Chief Constable. The Board ensures that the direction of the Police Department is consistent with community expectations.

The Delta Police Board is comprised of the Mayor, one person appointed by Delta Municipal Council and five persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. Membership consists of:

Mayor Lois E. Jackson, Chair
Pip Steele – Municipal Appointed
Hari Aroon )
Peter Buxton, QC )
Cameron C. McLeod, Sr. ) – Appointed by
Angela Kaiser, BComm, CPA, CGA, CFP, ICD.D ) Lieutenant Governor
Kerry-Lynne Findlay, PC, QC ) in Council

Board members are appointed to a term not to exceed four years, although they may be reappointed. They cannot hold office for more than six consecutive years. Attempts are made to stagger the appointments to ensure continuity from year to year.

Members of the Board volunteer their time and expertise to form a neutral body to oversee policing within the municipality. They are paid per diem, to cover incidental expenses incurred during their Board duties.

2017 Delta Police Board Schedule of Meetings